Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Climate change has started threatening our existence on this planet. The rises in temperatures have already caused extinction to many species. Although certain people think that we need to get habitual to climate change, I believe that we should tackle with this issue to lessen our impact on earth’s climate. There are various steps that government and a person can take to prevent or at least mitigate climate change. Since the days of industrialization we have been consuming natural resources without looking at its consequences. While burning fossil fuels harmful gases which trap heat in our atmosphere are released. Government could pass law on industrial pollution which is making major contribution to greenhouse effect. Similarly, corporate business should adopt sustainable working practices. For instance, switching to environmentally friendly ways of manufacturing using renewable energy such as solar panel. Over past few decades the number of vehicles on road has been increased. As individuals we should use public transport more. In addition to this Government could impose green taxes on private vehicles and airlines. If instead of taking the above measures we simply try to live with climate change, I believe that the consequences will be disastrous. Due to Global warming the polar ice is melting causing sea level to increase. If sea level continues to rise it will soon arrives at the point where coastal cities will get submerged into the water. Millions of people would get displaced due to flooding. They would loose their home and jobs. The potential for human suffering would be huge, and it is likely that we would see outbreaks of disease and famine, as well as increased homelessness and poverty. To conclude, there are several ways to prevent climate change and hence the argument that should find a way to live does not hold water. It merely shows our unwillingness to reduce our carbon footprint.