Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of today’s major challenges faced by human beings is that a series of problems led by climate change have been more and more severe. Some people suggested that we should try to adapt ourselves to the changes in global climate rather than avoiding the changes. I think that overall, I disagree with the view. The best way to deal with climate change should be that we actively take every measure to prevent the crisis mainly because If we simply try to live with climate change, I believe that the consequences will be disastrous. To give just one example, I am not optimistic that we would be able to cope with even a small rise in sea levels. Millions of people would be displaced by flooding, particularly in countries that do not have the means to safeguard low-lying areas. These people would lose their homes and their jobs, and they would be forced to migrate to nearby cities or perhaps to other countries. The potential for human suffering would be huge, and it is likely that we would see outbreaks of disease and famine, as well as increased homelessness and poverty. In addition, considering the variety of measures that our governments and ourselves could take to prevent, or at least mitigate, climate change, it seems unwise that we choose to do nothing. Governments can make and enforce laws that force relevant industries to save on energy and reduce carbon dioxide emissions, which will relieve global warming. They could also impose “green taxes” on drivers, airline companies and other polluters, and increase the investment in renewable energy production from solar, wind or geothermal power. For individuals, we should proactively adjust our lifestyle according to environmental standards. If an increasing number of people are willing to cycle, walk or take public transports to work or school, less automobile exhaust will be discharged and therefore climatic change may be relieved to some degree. To summarize, it is obvious that we must make the best use of all reasonable methods to address the problem of climate change as possible as we can.