In countries where there is a high rate of unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In many countries the world over, graduates are facing difficulties in getting jobs. Consequently, there has been, in recent years, a growing body of opinion in favour of not offering secondary education to primary students, living in a country of high-level of unemployment. Being a rational mind, I, however, take issue with this notion, for I am of the view that without higher education, it is next to impossible to become a good business person or to migrate to developed countries. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that stands out deals with the significance of a college or university degree as a way to become an entrepreneur. In other words, education degrees not only help people get a job but also boost confidence to erect their own enterprise, creating many employment opportunities for others. To cite an example, in Cape Town, where job opportunities were almost zero in 2000, the country’s graduates built their own business and gave jobs to the locals, resulting in increasing the nation’s economy as well as the rate of employment. Therefore, secondary education is imperative whether a country has job opportunities or not. Another critical rationale in reference to why secondary education should be offered after completing the primary level is necessarily synonymous with changing the fate and face of the penurious situation through migrating to other countries. To be more precise, if anyone completes ones’ college as well as tertiary level, he or she can easily find a job available in other parts of the world and get out from the curse of unemployment. To exemplify, in South Sudan, a country having no job, 20% of graduates migrated to developed countries with a view to get a coveted job and change their lives. In essence, to become self-dependent and find a job in different countries, it is incumbent on us to offer secondary education after the primary level without considering the job availability.