Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, climbing the ladder is one of the important miles stones of every individual in a working role. There is a view that job-based elevation should be bestowed only to employees with a longer service in the organization. In my opinion, it is imperative that you acknowledge the tenure of an individual,, however merit-based progress would benefit the company, in the long run, irrespective of their service. To begin with, there is powerful evidence that promoting employee, who works for long years will be beneficial for the association, as it would bolster their confidence to new heights. This is because getting promoted to the next level after working for so many years gives them a sense of self-worth and this could reinforce their self-confidence immensely leading to a heightened degree of self-responsibility. For example, if long time employees working in an organization pushed up to the next level, they would be really grateful for the vote of confidence in their ability, which also pragmatically places them in a better psychological state of standing to go beyond the call of duty in order to put the group in good stead. In contrast, if these long-timers are not promoted, it may leave them disgruntled leading to non-cooperation, when their services are critically needed. As a result, it is evident that workers with good experience and better knowhow of business procedures should be promoted, if not, this could have serious consequences for the team, which might lose a significant amount of business to its competitors. However, it is indispensable to have equal opportunities for every employee irrespective of their tenure as professional calibre should be the benchmark for career progression. The reason is that the work culture encourages staff to work productively where rewards are more for merit than the experience. For example, some multinational companies use annual performances and development reviews by setting targets for an employee when deciding on promotion, it is not a new normal to see juniors getting promotions, while they are still yearlings in the organisation. On the contrary, when a senior is promoted merely on the pretext of his length of employment in the organization without meeting any performance markers, this may cause irreversible damage to the business gaining a lot of disrepute. Thus, it is always better if the performance becomes a pivotal point for a job progression. In conclusion, although seniors are invaluable to the company in terms of the amount of time they have invested, the underlying reason for someone to progress in their career cannot be the length of office but the quality of work they offered, more so desirable if the seniors fit the bill.