Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that schools should focus more on subjects which helps students in their future employment than wasting time in teaching history which will not be beneficial. I partially agree with this notion as I am of the opinion that there should be a balance,as both history and job oriented skills play a vital role in shaping the personality of a child. This essay shall discuss why the school curriculum should have both history and professional making courses with relevant examples. Firstly, Those who are in favour of history being an essential subject think so because,In schools, the curriculum is set by highly qualified experts which aim at the overall development of the pupil. By teaching history, pupil will know about the culture and tradition of a nation.Young minds will become creative which will boost their imagination. For example, In India history is important to know about the struggle of freedom fighters and how India got independence. Thus, knowing history will connect us to the deep-seated roots of a country along with customs followed worldwide. However,from the perspective of people who believe in teaching more skills which help in their career, in order to become professionally skilled, teaching science and math will help in building a strong future.Children will develop interests in these syllabi and learn skills that will motivate them to become highly qualified and help in securing jobs easily. For instance, concentrating on these courses will make students doctors,engineers,scientists etc. Therefore, it will be helpful in their future employment as most students goal will be to climb high in their career and earn a handsome salary to lead a peaceful life. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that for on the whole development of the pupil there should be a balance between subjects like history and employment securing skills.While history connects us to the tradition of a nation,science and technology help in the career. Hence, without knowing about the root of one's culture,learning only career-oriented courses will not be beneficial.