Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the 21st century having importance of science and technology, there is controversial discussion about whether students in university should be better to choose subjects related to science. I believe giving the right of choice to students is more important. On the one hand, some people argue that every student in college should learn some subjects which would be useful in future. In fact, the industries such as engineering, medicine have advanced continuously. So,it is necessary for surviving in stiff competition. Having an ability and acquiring knowledge about these subjects would offer job opportunities, career progression and better salaries. and it would lead to a life of good quality.On the societal level, countries can nurture talented young people who have inherent ingenuity, which would bring benefits such as developing new invents. Also, the country’s economy would grow up. Nevertheless, young people in university should be free to choose their major. It would be the last gateway to decide directions where they go in their lives. Most workers work a job related to their major.Again, there is a high possibility that the major would be their job in their lifetime. If they just make a choice which is forced by society, they might live depressing life. On the contrary, if they have the freedom which can choose what they desire, they would work passionately and enjoy and concentrate on their job. From the social point, it would make a healthier and ideal society. Moreover, as forming various kinds of professionals, all areas evenly would develop in future. In conclusion, although it might be reasonable to focus on prospective subjects which is useful in future, I personally prefer that people have the right to study whatever they want.