Water is in short supply in many countries of the world, but consumption of water by families is increasing. Why is this happening? What can be done to preserve water?

Undoubtedly, water is one of the most precious natural resources in the world.Various countries around the globe are dealing with the problem of shortage of water, thus, it is one of the most frequently discussed problems on the global economic forums. Many people hold the opinion that the consumption of water by families is primarily increasing due to a plethora of reasons. First and foremost, in most of the developed nations such as the United States and Canada, people often tend to live in the big estate, featuring manmade gardens and meadows, therefore water consumption is usually high for maintaining these gigantic properties. Furthermore, global warming, increase in pollution has reduced the precipitation levels and thus overall water -level has reduced drastically at the ground level. Nevertheless, there are various strategies that could be implemented across the globe to conserve water. For instance, the government should increase the tariff on water usage if it is beyond a certain threshold per household thus encouraging society to use water judiciously and avoid any unnecessary spillage. In addition, water recycling and treatment options should be explored further and more and more people should be motivated to utilize these options. For example, the government should provide subsidized water tariffs if the household has installed water recycling treatment in the household. Schools should update the curriculum to ensure that students are aware of these global issues such as the water crisis and guide them to conserve natural resources. To encapsulate, the water crisis is a grave problem, all countries around the world would need to take collective actions and come up with creative ideas in order to combat this grim situation.