In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a common practice in Britain and other European countries that when people grow old and are not able to take care of themselves, they get enrolled into old age homes nearby. On most,occasions families take care of the bills however sometimes government pays. I think it is an option not to be biased on who has to pay because that totally depends on the family. I will explain some situations of when family can or cannot take the responsibility. If we take a wider look most people in Britain live in nuclear families and have two or more children. In a situation of an early marriage offsprings usually are matured when their parents get old and most children work part-time while doing their graduate studies. In an environment where children are are taught to live independently without interfering with their working parents they tend to be more responsible. Some of these qualities make them feel accountable for everything happening in their family. They also feel the need to take care of their parents like they were taken care of. In such cases bills or payments to organisations looking after their parents can be taken care of their family members. There are children who have been raised by a single parent or cohabiting parents. It is a well-known fact that a child needs to be raised in a healthy environment where it is loved and nourished by everyone around. Children are spoilt and become vulnerable when they are exposed to bad behaviours such as harassment. They do not understand the concept of love and affection. They become irresponsible, lack confidence, feel insecure and sometimes even question their own existence. In such cases when children are devoid of their own well being it is impossible to expect them to take care of their parents and pay for them. This is when the government has to help the elderly by funding the old age homes to take care of them. To conclude, a person who is emotionally attached to his family and has a good heart will always thrive towards helping the family members in all ways. On contrast, someone with the opposite can never be depended upon.