Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

In this modern world, professionals are working for longer times and strained by the end of the day. While there are two important reasons like short deadlines and job threat, companies can find collaborative solutions to motivate employees and rejuvenate them to work for the future vision of the organization. There are predominantly two critical reasons for these extended hours of work which are subsequently leading to mental stress among employees. The primary one being, in the urge of winning new projects from different clients, employers are accepting projects with stringent and shorter deadlines for delivery. We had to work almost daily for 14hours, for instance, to replace the sales management system for a reputed client organization, as it ought to be delivered in 3 months which is almost next to impossible. Apart from this, the existing job's security is a rising concern among many professionals as it eventually leads to many financial problems without a job. During this pandemic, many workers lost their jobs and available to work at lesser pay which is making the other working employees be very cautious in their current positions. Organizations can work smartly to overcome these kinds of mental stress for their employees. Encouraging remote working solutions to promote the work -life balance for sure improves the worker productivity beyond expectations. Tata consultancy services, for example, has achieved 50% additional productivity during these pandemic times, which is a win-win for both employee and employers. Adding to this, profit sharing with professionals to motivate them is also another factor to consider. Out of the box thinking organizations like cognizant, for instance, has shared a portion of the quarterly profit as a bonus has delivered greater results than expected. To conclude, employees are stressed mentally and physically due to the lengthier working hours. There are valid reasons for these cultures from an organisational standpoint. However, motivational factors like creating a work -life balance with profit-sharing plans with the workforce will give stupendous results to both parties.