Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Crime rates has been increasing exorbidantly exorbitant these days, especially in rural areas. Most people say the raise is greatly because of human's addiction to alcohol and that it should be banned. Though, in one way banning alcohol helps in reducing crime rates I think there are other factors contributing to the seemingly increase the same. News headlines and newspapers always talks about child rapes, molestations and harassments. It is true to an extent that when people are under alcohol or other drugs they commit such hineous hideous crime underestimating the ramifications of it in the future. Most criminals are not aware of the punishments they might get and feel extremely guilty after the crime has happened. There are prisoners in jail who have been still writing guilt notes to the affected, for the crimes commited years ago. It is only when putting them into rehablitation centres,they feel the pain of the victims. Even if alcohol is banned there are high chances that people might divert themselves into other addictions like nicotine, drugs, cocaines. Though all of the above is true, there are ways and means to curb crimes from happening without banning products. People can be educated on the consequences of consuming drugs, they can be informed on how it affects a person physically and mentally. All the negative energies and thoughts can be transformed into something positive by motivating them in small ways. I believe education serves as a best medium to eradicate this issue. Countries like Sweden provide free education to all the citizens and it has resulted in reducing crimes to less that 5%, and has listed the country as one of the 'World's happiest countries'. To conclude, I think banning drugs and alcohol contributes to reduce crimes at minimal rate, whereas educating people would definitely make a huge impact. If we work together we can achieve to bring real independence in our country.