Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Crime rates have been increasing exorbitantly these days, especially in rural areas. Most people say the raise is great because of human's addiction to alcohol and that it should be banned. Though, in one way banning alcohol helps in reducing crime rates I think there are other factors contributing to the seemingly increase the same. News headlines and newspapers always talk about child rapes, molestations and harassments. It is true to an extent that when people are under alcohol or other drugs they commit such heinous crimes being devoid of its ramifications. Even if alcohol is banned there are high chances that people might divert themselves into other addictions like nicotine, drugs, cocaines. Because, most criminals are not aware of the punishments they might get and feel extremely guilty after the crime has happened.There are prisoners in jail who have been still writing guilt notes to the affected, for the crimes committed years ago. It is only when putting them into rehabilitation centres,they feel the pain of their victims. Though all of the above is true, there are ways and means to curb crimes from happening without banning products. People can be educated on the consequences of consuming drugs, they can be informed on how it affects a person physically and mentally.They can be taught the crime sections, laws and punishments at a younger age preventing them from committing one. All the negative energies and thoughts can be transformed into something positive by motivating them in small ways. I believe education would serve as an effective measure to eradicate this issue. Countries like Sweden, Finland provide free education to all the citizens and it has resulted in reducing crimes to less than 5% and made the countries almost from free thefts, robberies or crimes. To conclude, I think banning drugs and alcohol contributes to reduce crimes at a minimal rate, whereas educating people would definitely make a huge impact. If we work together we can achieve to bring real independence to our country.