It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Travel has always been perceived as a good approach to traditional customs and exotic culture of other countries. However, nowadays, some people begin to hold such a perspective that we should avoid a wide variety of travels aimed at learning about culture since reading books and watching films have provided us with enough information on cultural traditions in other places. I think that overall, I disagree with the view. As reasonable it may seem, compared with travels, the flexibility and convenience of the references, videos and websites related to traditional culture are apparent. In particular, thanks to today’s advanced Internet technologies, we can not only acquire E-books and documentaries with rich contents but also adjust the peace of our studying plans to our own needs, just needing an Internet-connected device such as a smartphone or laptop. It appears that some mass medias can make us get a higher degree of autonomy than travels. Nevertheless, it seems unwise to underestimate travels’ contributions to the spread and education of traditional culture, after all, as an activity needing human beings’ active participation, travel allows us to maintain close contact with various exotic culture far away from the places where we are living, which will help us get a deeper understanding of the local culture. It is not rare see in some areas that the local authorities in these places would frequently hold cultural events that introduce many local cultural heritages and that would be aimed at attracting more tourists. Through these events, these people can gain a huge amount of knowledge about local culture, such as folk music and dances. In addition, travel boosts cultural communication in a more active way than books or videos. During travel, we can actively interact with local people and deeply experience their life, such as their dietary habit, peculiar customs and unique manners, while transmitting our own culture to those local people in the process of mutual exchanges. Obviously, it is not that easy for mass media to achieve such a direct and effective interaction. To summarize, although some mass media play a necessary role in cultural exchange, traveling is of greater importance in order for us to personally experience the distinctive cultures and customs from different places.