Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what really want to do in their spare time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Somebody argues that the way others spend their free time change according to the current tendency, in order to keep a status quo among society. The paragraphs below will state my strong agreement with the statement, since people are always trying to fit in and, when they do not, have to suffer the consequences of their choice. To begin with, the main reason why I believe individuals choose a moment trend to focus is because society forces them to consider it as the best option. For instance, during adolescence and initial adulthood, most men opt for lifting as a sport choice, due to social belief that having a skin body and strong muscles is the most acceptable form of body shape. Moreover, the media also plays an important role in this situation, since movie industry only portrayed fitness actors as main characters, affirming the stereotype of a perfect body to be achieved by viewers. Furthermore, another point to justify the notion is due to the bullying faced by the ones who decide to do what they like for a hobbie. To illustrate this, taking a personal example, during my teenagehood, sewing was one interest of mine. However, during the period I decided to take a course, I heard several sexist comments, as a result, I decided to leave it, to stop being bullied. Additionally, intolerance also leads to an insecurity to engaging in activities. To support this, a lot of Umbanda practitioners hide their religion for fear of being reprimand by prejudiced ones who claim that Umbanda is satanic, which it is not. To summarize, I utterly agree with this trend, because people are insecure and prefer to follow the common will than showing their true self to avoid being mean treated. Thus, people should practise being more tolerant with others in order to change this scenario.