Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Some people believe that teenagers should either travel or work for some time after graduating high school, instead of joining university right away. It would help them explore their interests and expose them to real-life challenges which they will face later in life along with some possible drawbacks. On the one hand, one of the benefits of travelling or working after graduation instead of going to university is that they will get to better find about their likes and dislikes. They would get to experience different line of work and would choose what suits them the best which will help them efficiently progress in university. Secondly, they would get to experience real-life challenges which they will face later in life. For instance, while travelling they would be responsible for managing their itinerary, living and expenses which will equip them for a better future. On the other hand, one problem with working or travelling right after graduating high school and not going to university is that they might fall into bad company. They might get involved in gangs or drugs which might harm their future prospects. Another possible issue is that they might get exploited at work for being underage which might affect their mental health later in life. In conclusion, while it’s beneficial for young teenagers to work or travel after graduating high school but they might get into gangs, drugs or come across a bad job experience.