Many small businesses are being forced to close because they cannot compete with multinational corporations; what problem does this cause, and how can those problems be solved.

In today’s modern world, it can be said that multinational corporations hold the most power. This presents an issue for various spheres in our society, from an economic standpoint to the political realm. However, the most pressing challenges that corporations pose can be seen in the rapid decline of small businesses, as they are being forced out of the competition. We will discuss possible problems arising from this and how they could be solved. Possibly the major problem that corporations cause is the creation of monopolies in the market. If a corporation is powerful enough, they drive out and buy out all their competitors until there is no one left, and they dominate the market. This creates a monopolistic hierarchy because companies or corporations have total control of a market, and they dominate their sector or industry. For example, the multinational grocery retailer Tesco dominates the grocery sector, forces others out of the industry and makes it impossible for other businesses to compete with them. Thus, large corporations make it even harder for small businesses to survive or establish themselves because the power imbalance is even greater. As a result, when small businesses are forced to close, many people lose their main sources of income and must find new ways to support themselves. On the other hand, there are different approaches, which could include government support and tax breaks for small businesses and introducing substantial corporation taxes and policies that make it harder for corporations to monopolise and drive away small businesses. In conclusion, it appears that in order to save small businesses, governments would have to provide some kind of protection for small business owners and introduce bigger mandatory taxes for corporations that would restrict their power.