Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Every year, billons of people lack access to fresh water around the globe and this issue is becoming worse as the time passes by. The misuse of water or its waste lead to economical and health problems which can consequently affect the population. One of the main concerns when we deal with this matter is the drinking water. Not only it will be harder for people to have a simple glass of water, but food production can be deeply affected with water shortage. Undoubtedly one of the measures which can be effective is the water recycling or collecting water from the rain to be used in toilet flush, gardening or car wash, for instance. Some developed countries already take this initiative with great results. Another consequence of the lack of water is the spread of diseases. Inadequate sanitization or the use of contaminated water have a huge impact on public health, allowing diseases such as cholera and hepatitis spread among people, for example. Improving sewage systems can play an important role in the sense of reducing costs to treat the water and reducing the amount of chemicals used. In summary, the reducing amount of potable water can become a serious problem worldwide, however, taking preventive steps as recycling water for general purposes and investing on strategies to treat efficiently the sewage, can slow the process down and avoid worse scenarios.