These days, more and more people are going to other countries for a significant period of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly main benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, people tend to spend a significant period of time going to other countries for studying or working. Living abroad has both merits and demerits to be considered. There is a range of disadvantages when going to other nations. Firstly, some opponents argue that those who live abroad may face language barriers, leading to the inability of integrating socially. If they cannot communicate comfortably for a long time, they will not be able to absorb necessary information or negotiate with partners, and it might have a negative influence on their mental health. For instance, due to unconfidence in conversational skills, these students and workers will avoid having conversations, resulting in not keeping anyone company. Consequently, they will meet loneliness, or even worse, depression. Language barriers and friendlessness are believed to be great problems when studying or working abroad. However, there is a multitude of advantages that are able to outweigh those drawbacks. That students and workers face some difficulties in communicating is a short-term consequence. In contrast, if they make great efforts and are diligent enough, they will be capable of overcoming hindrances and taking advantage of this opportunity to cultivate a reservoir of knowledge and experience, which will prepare them for future study and work. Moreover, going to other nations will encourage students and workers to extend their social circles worldwide. For example, they can meet a group of experts and fellows in particular areas, as well as have fruitful discussions. Those long-term benefits prove that spending a prolonged time in other countries studying and working is worthwhile. In conclusion, although going abroad may lead to some disadvantages such as language barriers and loneliness, its advantages which are the invaluably long-term merits show that investing in a journey to cultivate expertise is rewarding and should not be ignored.