Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a universityshould be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

As the college serves as a transition for students to make their way into the society and their future life, the university is the most crucial phrase in one’s education. Hence, to fulfill this end, the function of the university should be scrupulously considered. To find out the true value of the university to the graduates, we must consider what students need the most in their whole lifetime and in the period of this transition to adulthood. In my opinion, what the university should bring to the students is the knowledge and wisdom for their long-turn improvements on themselves, such as how to find the inner peace, how to live with each other in harmony, or how to persist when they face the upcoming predicaments. First of all, for the students, they must live out their own life and become a better self. This goal is as important for the students studying in the university as it is for them in the rest of their life. The college should provide the matching skills for students to achieve this aim. Only the knowledge mentioned above would well satisfy this need. Secondly, as the college is the place where the freshmen transform from children to adults, the students should receive proper education that helps them to make the transformation smoothly. The scope of this kind of education should be the knowledge and skills that the graduates will need to deal with the various situations they might face in their adulthood. If they do not have the adequate skills when they graduate, they may face numerous obstacles in their life and may find themselves in confusions, because they do not know how to cope with the problems they face. In conclusion, universities should do what they should do to help the student become a better self and adjust themselves in the society, serving as the most essential stage of the students education to help them step into their future life successfully.