Interview form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are better methods. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

To agree or disagree with the statement that interviews are the basic filteration criteria is an important issue. Putting the discussion in a wider context, interviews has always been debatable. Even though some people think that there are better methods for employing a resource rather than interviews, I wholeheartedly believe that interview is a good method for recruiting candidates. First I will discuss some arguments supporting my ideas about this statement, after which some aspects against that will be presented. On the one hand, many people agree with this statement for many noteworthy reasons. The most remarkable is that the recruiters can get an idea about the personalitty and skills of the potential employees. For instance,when the person is asked about any topic and he answers it in a concise and crisp manner, then the recruiter gets to know he is suitable for the job. Another key reason is that if a candidate is asked about case studies then the recruiters can judge the personality traits of that employee and also the ability to think outside the box. On the other hand, other people disagree with this statement for many reasons. They believe that other modes of recruiting like written tests and group discussions will help understand the mindset in a better manner.Written tests help in evaluating the technical or theoretical knowlege of a person. Group discussions help in getting a grasp of the conversational skills that he/she possesses. For example,in sales and marketing jobs conversational skills play a major role. All in all, when all the specific reasons and relevant examples are considered and evaluated, I strongly agree with the idea supporting this statement because its benefits outweigh its drawbacks.