Employers sometimes ask people appying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some recruiters ask in a job application about private information. A number of people claim that all the information gathered about an applicant counts, others, instead, argue that personal data is irrelevant to get a job. From my point of view, it is important to know as much as possible about a potential candidate. In the following paragraphs, both perspectives will be discussed. On one hand, in the recruiting process is fundamental to retrieve personal data from all applicants in order to determine whether they fit in the organization or not. It may sound trivial but some people lack the treats needed in some kind of enterprises. As an example, one of the biggest start-ups nowadays, Tesla, always asks the possible new workers about their preferences in video games, this way Tesla can observe some hidden characteristics that otherwise, they would not find. On the other hand, if the personnel of Human Resources ask about sensible information to an aspirant, it can be seen as harassment or even, as discrimination. For instance, asking a female candidate how many children does she have might be seen as a way to measure her availability if she gets the spot. Having said that, the recruitment process needs to be really careful when choosing if a question can be asked. To summarise, the process of getting a job relies on questions and answers, both the employee and the employer need to know each other as well as possible before starting a professional relationship. That is the main reason why I believe that even some personal inquires are necessary. Nonetheless, there are boundaries that must be respected to avoid misunderstandings.