Many small businesses are being forced to close because they are unable compete with multinational corporations? What problems does this cause and how can problems be solved?

A current setback discussed is the role of big companies play in closing local stores, as the lattest ones are being suffocated. The paragraphs below will outline this trend, evidencing the outcomes of this act and possible solutions to settle it. To begin with, several small stores are family businesses which sustain a whole household from generation to generation, existing for decades. Shutting down these businesses can cause the lost of family heritages and their money source, since part of these people do not invest in other career. Moreover, looking at a economic view, having only big commerces domaining the market may be problematic, as there will not be competition and they can charge the price they find interesting. For instance, in São Luis, a Brazilian city, there are only one supermarket chain. Because of this, some products are extortionate and the population is unabled enabled to search for it in other establishments, as there are none. In spite of the aforementioned fact, there are some options that can be applyed in different aspects to solve this issue. Fistly First, the population must encourage local shops, buying items from them instead of other places. Secondly, the government can incentive a just trade, imposing higher taxes to enterprises with higher incomes, hence, equaling the final selling prices of their products. As a result, people would choose based on their will, not in wasted money. Therefore, working on these suggestions, small enterprises might not close and could compete fairly. To summarize, the advent of multinational corporations can destroy families income sources and, as they would domain the market, lead to overcharging in their products. Although, besides the population opting to purchase in local trades to diminish the closure possibility, the government could also apply economical measures to equal the final selling price.