Nowadays, many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self employed

In recent times, the kind of work people do is dependent on various factors best known to them. Some individuals chose to be self-employed while others prefer to be employed by government-owned establishments or private firms. Their reason for choosing self-employment might be due to the fact that they need time to take care of their families and this can be disastrous as they will bear losses alone when there is no adequate gain. As regards people's purpose for selecting self-employment, they do so in order to create ample of time to cater for their family members. Since they are the boss of their own, they will make working conditions flexible for themselves and determine what happens. To buttress this, in a study conducted by the Ministry of works, it was concluded that about 55 per cent of shop owners open late and close early, even some might not even be around when customers want to purchase goods. Therefore, many individuals prefer to have their own personal businesses in order to have more moment to care for their children. Turning to the downside of privately-owned jobs, in case of any loss, business owners bear the burden alone. When there is no profit made at the end of the day, it will become a challenge for an individual to face. For instance, during the corona virus pandemic, many personally owned businesses were closed down due to poor patronage and the owners faced the consequences alone. From the aforementioned example, it is apparent that being self-employed is dangerous. In conclusion, many people want to have jobs of their own rather than working in other people's companies because it provides more opportunities for them to meet the needs of their families but it is risky as they can not share losses with other people.