Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Numerous companies ensure that employees wear formal clothings, while others disregard appearances, focusing only on work output. In my opinion, I believe that although some companies enforce formal dress codes to seem attractive to investors and customers, they indirectly stifle free thinking and innovation from employees. Companies without dress codes promotes the later. It is well known within business circles that customers are more trusting of an organisation where the employees look professional and smart. Customers would patronize such businesses due to the confidence it induces. In addition, angel investors would not hesitate to pour their funds into companies that have displayed professionalism along with a formal work attire. For example, law firms, banks and insurance companies heavily enforce said rules to boost the image and attractiveness of their organisations. While dress codes aren't the only indicator of work quality, it contributes to the companies outlook. In contrast, enterprises without rules on work attire, tend to create an environment where employees can think and speak freely. Such companies promote openmindedness and innovation, focusing only on the result of work. Furthermore, it prevents a stressful or toxic work environment that could occur due to certain unforseen circumstances such as a bad hair or laundry day. The unlucky candidate could be suspended or worse, fired. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although all companies should advocate for proper work etiquette within the work place, rules pertaining to work clothes could be more disadvantageous to the company. I recommend conpanies to be flexible in the enforcement of such rules.