It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you think it is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

According to some people, the increase in the rate of crimes committed by teenagers is due to their exposure to violence showcased in movies, TV shows and other video games. While I admit that / agree with the view that brutality depicted in media can contribute to this problem, lack of family support also plays a role. There are several measures that can be taken to deal with juvenile crime. Firstly, I think the reason some minors commit crime is that they are heavily influenced by the violence shown in films or TV serials and do not understand the consequences. In other words, they believe that this behavior makes them popular in school or college; however, they do not understand the legality of such offence while committing one. Secondly, this problem is also compounded by the lack of family care or supervision. When parents fail to understand the needs or wants of their children and refuse to fulfil their needs or give them a monthly allowance, children may retaliate by engaging in activities such as shop lifting or stealing. Consequently, in the long run, this behavior can lead to bigger crimes involving drugs, kidnapping, or murders. There are two effective solutions to address the growing problems of child crime. One way to tackle this issue is to censor violence in media. This will reduce their exposure to such activities and not instigate them in some ways. Providing proper care is another measure that can be taken to tackle this issue. This requires understanding the needs of young people and providing them proper guidance from time to time. Moreover, it is essential for parents to monitor their child’s activities and also show constant support wherever required. In extreme cases, children should also be provided with counselling and rehabilitation therapy. In conclusion, by restricting entry to violent movies and providing necessary support and guidance during childhood, parents and governments can reduce incidences of juvenile crime to a greater extent.