Recent research has shown that within the European Union the largest difference between the earnings of men and women exists in the UK. Many equal rights campaigners believe that immediate action should be taken to close the gender pay gap. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

This essay will examine the aspect of taking immediate actions to minimize differences according to gender or allow that the companies and the market to autonomously act in front of this situation. Whereas the difference of payment to man and women is not publicly stated by the companies, there are several companies which still practice this policy. Ultimately I think the government should take actions to minimize the gap. Firstly, the government could demand from companies periodic reports about employees, salaries and genders. The report would give a real assessment about the proportion of man and woman working at the company, the earning between them, the promotions each group receives inside the company. With this evidence, it is possible to track how the enterprise treats each group. Secondly, the government has enough power to take immediate actions. They are necessary because until now the market has demonstrated some evolution in this aspect but in slow motion. Analysing at least three decades ago, there was an even bigger difference between woman and man. It is not feasible to wait more decades to reach equality. When a huge modification in the market is necessary, soon or later it implies government intervention. In conclusion, As the market has shown it is going to take a huge time to reach gender equality, the government is supposed to act as soon as possible to remove barriers between genders. These actions likely implies in a formal detailed reports from enterprises proving each opportunity and salaries were equally balanced between gender.