Today children and adults from many countries play video games. Some people believe playing video games is harmful. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, people from diverse cultural backgrounds spend some of their leisure time playing video games. It has been suggested that these games could inflict harm on individuals who play them. In my opinion, under careful guidance, playing such games has no adverse effects and is, in fact, highly beneficial. It is my view that, both adults and youngsters, could develop remarkable skills by playing video games. Language learning, for instance, is a decided advantage of this fun activity. I, personally, know of a few friends who learned to speak impeccable English by playing some dialogue-driven games. Improving reflex response is another skill that can be practised through this pastime. Racing and role-playing are examples of games that help individuals improve their eye-hand coordination. Through the tasks set in such games, players learn to react to events in their virtual environment in a swift and timely manner. In contrast, some people claim that video games promote violence. They firmly insist that gamers are likely to act out the aggressive behaviour that is often displayed in such games. However, I do not find this argument convincing as fantasy can easily be distinguished from reality. If parents, teachers and the media reinforced the idea that video games are simply “a virtual playground” gamers would recognize the boundaries between reality and fantasy. Consequently, violent games would be regarded as a medium for people to express their negative emotions safely without physically harming a single person. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea that playing video games is detrimental because they could be used to acquire foreign languages and coordination skills. Indeed, these virtual games have the potential to allow people to release their emotions in a safe environment. That said, in order to maximize their benefits, proper supervision and counsel from parents and the media are warranted.