Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, most employers are asking more details apart from your basic ones like hobbies, interests, marital status, siblings and so on. Therefore, by providing this information to enterprises, few people are thinking it is required to understand the person while others do not agree. In my opinion, taking these details by the companies are good to know you better. I will discuss both these views in the below paragraphs with examples. Firstly, when we are applying for a job, employers asked lots of detail with additional information about the candidate such as hobbies, interests, leisure activities, status and so on. Why they need this information? because if they are going to organize any event and that matches with your hobbies or interest then they will invite you for that. For example, your hobby is playing cricket, if company is going to organize any tournament, then they will call you to participate. In this way, they are using your personal information. So, I think it good to send them. Secondly, those who are denying to providing their personal information, because they do not want to share with everyone like marital status especially those who are divorced. In addition, some people are feeling insecure to provide these data to companies. For example, If the company database is hacked by someone then they will extract all the employee’s personal details as well as company data. So, this could be one of the reasons why people are denying to provide their personal data at the time of applying a job. To conclude, providing additional data always be good rather than not giving because most of the companies are securing their network and using lots of advanced technologies to protect it. I think every employee should need to provide their extra curriculum activities to the employer and this will be helpful for both of them.