Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

It is believed that students ought to study the way food can be prepared and its science whereas others defend that their time in educational institutions need to be used wisely with useful matters. In this essay I will discuss both views and I will present my opinion towards the subject. To begin with, youngers go to school to learn about several subjects which are important for caring a healthy and independently life. Several teenagers are not well taught about nutrition neither at home nor in school, because their parents may not care about this topic and that is why school plays a fundamental role in their lives. Additionally, the lack of knowledge regarding this subject has brought about high levels of obesity which millennials are recently facing. For that reason, schools need to accurately cover this topic, because it is their responsibility to prepare young citizens to live properly and healthily. On the other hand, educational institutions need to focus on teaching technical subjects which are a fundamental knowledge to youngers lives. In other words, each grade has its own syllabus already defined by a national institution that regulates what needs to be taught accordingly with a person’s age and maturity. To illustrate, they are Math for 5th grade, Geography for 1st year and English for secondary school. Consequently, some parents are against innovative contents, such as nutrition, because they might affect the general learnt and may distract their infant from what really matters. They argue that it is a waste of time having cookery classes instead of learning about national history. In conclusion, both sides have their own merits, however, I defend that school is a place where everything needs to be taught and well-explained to infants, such as cookery abilities and Maths. It is important to help teenagers handle well nutrition and food preparation, because it is not a matter of cooking exclusively, but also keeping a good health and how to live properly, otherwise they could develop irreversible chronic diseases.