Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. So companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

In recent years, the role of women in society as well as in job sectors has changed to a great extent. However, it is noteworthy that higher positions in firms are still occupied by men, although women account for half of the workforce in many developed countries. While some people claim that women should be promoted more to hold these positions, I disagree with this idea as I believe that higher positions should be served by deserving people and should not be allocated based on genders. First, recruiting for higher positions in a company should never be based on genders, but qualifications, skills and aptitudes. This is because choosing people who cannot adapt to the working conditions will make companies confront many difficulties - even this can affect the profit, productivity and the public image. For instance, in my brother’s workplace, two women were recruited in two higher positions only because they were relatives of the owner. Within a few months, the management had to replace both of them with more competent employees. Therefore, a company should always choose the best people to serve their important positions. If a female candidate seems more promising or if an existing female employee has excellent capabilities, there should not be any problem in recruiting or promoting a woman in a higher position. Again, if percentage or number is the most crucial factor, I believe children should also be promoted to higher positions in a company in a developing country as their percentage in factories and industries in those countries is also high. This exemplifies why qualifications should get priority over other aspects when it comes to hiring people for higher management positions in a company. In conclusion, I strongly believe that employees should be recruited according to their expertise, eligibilities and talent. It is therefore recommended that women who want to play important roles in an organisation should gain those qualifications and skills. They should not be favoured only because of their gender.