Some countries today have passed law against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

Nowadays, smoking in public places has been prohibited in some countries, while others thought it was unnecessary. In this essay, I will discuss the both sides of this phenomenon, and give concluding view. On the one hand, critics of tobacco restriction in public places promote the idea that smoking is depends on personal choice. Citizens of those countries think that they should have freedom to smoke in anywhere they want. Moreover, some countries believe that smoke in public area can lead to economic improvement. Evidence from many statistic shows that countries, allow people to smoke in public areas sell more than other countries. On the other hand, supporters of anti-tobacco law claim that smoking in public places may infringe on the right of others to live a healthy life. Study of World health organization shows that cigarettes are not only harmful to smokers but also harmful to others. This is to say that if someone is smoking in offices and restaurants, people who sit around could be in dangerous. Moreover, for the countries that don’t produce cigarettes, cost of it could be relatively higher than self-producing countries. This is to say that countries import tobacco should pay import taxes, therefore it cannot be financial friendly. Finally smoking is one of the mean reasons causes air pollution. Although there are many reasons to pollute the air, but pollution from tobacco can not be ignored. Overall, It seems that smoking in public may disturb others and have serious impact on air pollution. Therefore anti-cigarettes law will be preferable.