Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many organizations asked the employees to dress smartly. However, the importance of dress codes in the workplace is debatable. This essay will discuss why the quality of work outweighs the appearance. First, the organizations require the staff to dress smartly inorder to crete a serious and profession image to the customers. For example, since lawyers are dealing with serious issues, customers always need more confident to the lawyers they hired. Therefore lawyers used to wear the suits in order to give a professional and confident image to the clients. Not just the professional occupations, dress smart is also important to the essential services. Another example is customer service providers, they cannot dress too fashion which might leads the customers think they are not working seriously and not willing to trust them. Smart dressing is one of the criteria that people define whether the person is professional or not. However, is everyone who dress smart means they are professional? I sincerly doubt with that. There are more criteria to evaluate the employee where quality of work seems to be the first priority. Appearance doesn't provide the qualification of a person. Even the doctors dress casual, their experience and knowledge still exsist exists. In contrast, eventhough with the smart dressing, if they are not trained up to work perfectly, they are still not the medical experts. Also, employers would only promote a staff because of their work instead of their appearance as the quality of work affects the furture of the organizaton rather than the outlook of the staff. Hence, the quality of work should be the only criteria the organization should look into. In my opinion, it is true that smart appearance gains the customer's turst, however, without the good quality output, customers are not satisfied with just smart appearance. It's obvious thw that quality of work outweighs the outlook of the employees.