Some people believe that a police force carrying guns will encourage a higher level of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The society we live in today has experienced an increasing rate of violence such as, rioting, common theft, burglary and domestic abuse for last few decades. Although, guns were introduced to mitigate these problems, some people claim that this is a counter-productive measure and promote more disturbances. I am of the opinion that guns should be carried by only special group of police officers and general police officers should not carry it for number of reasons. It is claimed that few police officers treat people differently based on their racial profile because they are biased by the previous crime rate on that community. When the police- officers carry guns, they are obliged to use them in crisis situations where they have to react very quickly, to prevent innocent people and for their own self defence. It has been found out from previous case studies and video footages that many police officers could not take right decisions at crucial moments and used their biased prejudices which cost innocent lives. These created anger in some marginalized societies. On the other-hand, there are some situations such as women, child and drug trafficking, require an armed police-force for who can deter the criminals. Some organized crime group will take advantage of the fact that police do not carry guns, therefore, will destroy the harmony of peace in a society. In summary, I strongly believe that community police should not carry guns and it should be carried by specially trained police officers who will only act when benefit outweigh the damages. Policing should be a friendly image on people’s mind not someone carrying guns