Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While many people think that children should be encouraged by their parents to get involved in organised activities during free time, some others believe that children should be let develop the ability to independently organise how to spend their free time. Although, I agree with the importance for children to learn to be independent, in my,opinion children should be encouraged to join organised group activities to help them build vital social and interpersonal skills. This is what this essay will demonstrate after discussing both these views. First of all, parents should motivate children to take part in organised group activities, which play a critical role in the development of their children abilities that will allow them to be positive members of society because they will learn to interact and work with others to achieve common goals. Furthermore, they will learn the importance to follow the rules of the group and help them develop altruism and compassion. For instance, my little nephew, who is a talented musician by his own accord, blossomed into a more confident and overall happier young man after joining a children's orchestra. Interacting with other kids helped him not only with his music but also with his interpersonal skills. In contrast, some other people argue is important that children develop creative ways to occupy their time, which will serve them to become more independent and able to overcome any problem in the future, because they are able to come up with solutions without the help of anyone. This is a fair argument, however, it cannot be made as a priority over the group activities, because learning to be comfortable in a group and to be able to bond with others and establish healthy relations are fundamental to life and society and children must muster such abilities early. To conclude, in my,opinion it is critical that parents encourage children to take part in organised group activities to ensure their children are equipped with the skills and experiences that will facilitate life in a community, moreover, this does not mean that their children will not learn how to occupy their own time independently too.