Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is acknowledgeable that some leisure activities become fashionable for a short time and then disappear when a new trend comes along, whereas others seem to be perennially popular. From my point of view, I can therefore only partly agree with the assertion that hobbies reflect changing fashions rather than our true interests. On the one hand, some people see hobbies as simply passing trends. Children and teenagers, in particular, are often attracted to whatever activity is currently popular among their peers. My 10-year-old niece, for example, seems to have a new interest every month, as she joins in with the latest craze that sweeps through her primary school. Over the last year or so, she has been obsessed with Rubik’s cubes, fidget spinners, squidgies and slime. In a similar way, there have been several different fitness trends for adults over recent years, from jogging to yoga to circuit training and I doubt whether a majority of participants continued to enjoy those activities in the long term. On the other hand, there are some people who spend their free time doing popular activities that are far from trendy. A good example of this would be the game chess. Children and adults who enjoy playing chess are certainly not following a new fashion or wasting their time doing something that they do not truly like. On the contrary, they are passionate about a game that has existed for hundreds of years and they find it inherently fascinating and absorbing. I would say the same is true about other activities of interest, from reading to swimming. In conclusion, it is apparent that there are numerous acts that people do in a short period of time as a result of catching trends, however, some people take up a hobby because they genuinely enjoy it.