Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, people all around the globe are using eco-friendly sources of energy like hydro and solar energy. However, the trend of using solar energy for household activities has become immensely popular in recent years. This essay will discuss the reason behind this increasing demand, and it will include both its merits and demerits. There are a plethora of reasons for the growing use of solar energy in houses. Firstly, it is a renewable source which is produced by sunlight and it cannot be exhausted. Secondly, it is environmentally-friendly when compared with coal and oil, and the use of these can curb the effects of global warming. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to solar energy. Primarily, it reduces the cost of electricity. In other words, using electricity for household purposes like TV, washing machine and fridge, etc can be severely expensive. On the contrary, use of solar panels can reduce these expenses. Moreover, it is extremely low maintenance. To elaborate, when solar grids are once installed they need servicing only twice a year. Conversely, there are numerous of drawbacks as well. The prime factor is that the efficiency of solar power significantly depends on the weather condition. To elucidate, they may not work properly during rainy and winter seasons. Furthermore, the solar panels acquire a huge space, and it may not be feasible for everyone to install these at their homes. Last but not the least, there are several appliances used for household chores that cannot run through solar power. To conclude, it seems to me that solar energy has both its advantages and disadvantages. In addition, its benefits on the environment outweigh its drawbacks magnificently, and these shortcomings can be curbed easily.