In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

Traffic issues have become increasingly severe for people nowadays, and some governments have taken some measures to deal with this problem. I believe that this is a very positive trend. In order to mitigate traffic problems, some measures taken by the government are proved to be effective, such as imposing a congestion tax and improving the number of buses. If the public has to pay for the congestion tax during rush hour, they are likely to choose public transport like the bus and the underground in order to avoid paying the tax, which could significantly reduce the number of private cars, alleviating the traffic congestion. Moreover, it is common to see that adding more bus routes is also a useful way to address traffic issues. For instance, some people prefer driving private cars because they can drive to their destination directly rather than transferring to different bus stops. If the bus routes could be designed more practical, some people do not need to drive their cars because they can take the bus conveniently, contributing to addressing the traffic problems. For another, the traffic has brought lots of negative impacts on people ’s lives. For example, we waste lots of time commuting. If the government do not take actions to solve these problems, we will suffer from traffic issues continuously as the number of cars is increasing, which will impede the personal and economic development, lowing the efficiency of working and producing. However, introducing some measures by the government will avoid such severe consequences. In conclusion, solving traffic problems by the government is effective, beneficial for both people and our society.