Cultural tourism, in which people travel in order to visit museums, monuments and archaeological sites among other things, is a growing industry. Having so many visitors may sometimes benefit a nation's cultural heritage, but it can also cause problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Tourism has become one of the major sectors of income for a majority of the countries. There has been an upsurge in the number of people visiting museums, monuments and archaeological sites of historic importance. Some people argue that this increase in the numbers benefits the country's heritage, while others contend that this has more disadvantages. I completely agree with the latter viewpoint and this essay will elucidate reasons to support it. On the one hand, it is essential to know about the country's cultural and traditional values and these visits will provide us insight into this knowledge. Moreover, it gives us information about important personnel who have contributed to history. For instance, in India, visiting a museum that portrays knowledge about the freedom fighters and their struggles for attaining independence. Consequently, visual information has a great impact on individuals rather than reading books. On the other hand, I believe that rather than benefiting the nation's heritage, these have a plethora of cons. Firstly, increased human interactions will damage these valuable assets. Also, once damaged, it is difficult to rebuild these cultural monuments, hence the destructions will become irreplaceable. To illustrate, due to the prolonged human intervention and pollution, the Taj Mahal, India's greatest wonder is on the verge of deterioration. Secondly, some places may lose their cultural value. This is mostly applicable to religious places. As the area will become a tourist location, more hotels and other facilities will make the place less attractive. Consequently, these unnecessary developments will impact its historical importance. To conclude, even though, visiting historic places provide us with knowledge about the country's culture, it can bring more problems by damaging the sites and also losing their importance. Hence, it is always beneficial to restrict the number of people visiting these sites and at the same time encouraging people to respect them.