n major cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a serious problem. How can this problem be tackled? Give reasons and examples from your own experience

The high volume of vehicles on the road is a severe issue for large cities around the globe. To solve this serious problem government should focus on improving their public travel systems and give incentives to promote the use of bikes. Firstly, although many people agree that using public transports is more convenient when travelling around town, they are often forced to drive their own car because they are not provided with a good enough service. This means, having a transport system that is reliable and on time, extended to all parts of the city and a comfortable way to travel. For example, putting extra busses on the route during peak times, which are usually very busy with people going to work and kids going to school, is vital to give good service. Furthermore, having frequent bus and train services also during the night at the weekend is a great idea. Since London underground extended its service through the night, the data shows that the number of vehicles on the road at the weekend is 40% less than before it was introduced. Secondly, making cycling easier and possible, which means building bicycle lanes connecting the centre of town with the outskirts, will have more people choosing to use their bikes around the city. For instance, the cycle to work scheme, which gives workers the opportunity to a free interest loan to purchase a good quality bicycle without paying any interest was a successful idea that more and more people decide to benefit from, making both roads less congested and stay fit.  In conclusion, the high traffic issue we experience in large cities around the globe can be solved by improving public travel systems and incentivising the use of bikes to move around.