Many people work long hours, leaving little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is very common to see people spending more hours at work, leaving little time for their own hobbies or leisure activities. It has both positive as well as negative impacts on one’s life. Let us see which overweighs the other. There is competition at every level in the industry, starting from competition among the employees for their survival or promotions/ pay hikes and competition among different entities in one industry to cover their costs and increase profitability. This competition results high expectations of the customers, employers. To meet this expectations one has to meet with the deadlines causing pressure to complete the tasks or to meet the set quality or quantity targets. They end up shredding their own hours to their professional lives. There are benefits that are directly linked to their performance they get fast track promotions, pay hikes etc. At the same time, working for longer hours has a hidden cost that an employee pays unknowingly. This has a detrimental impact on the physical as well as mental health of an employee. Spending more life under pressure may lead to anxiety or panic attacks. They feel cut off from their social, personal lives. To conclude, its disadvantages overweigh its benefits. Considering all the monetary, non-monetary costs or benefits, I would strongly recommend having a proper work-life balance.