In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue convincingly that it is crucial to fund the construction of innovative high speed railway lines connecting towns. Whereas others consider that amount of money should be spent on developing the existing public transport infrastructure. I am inclined to believe that both opinions are right. For the purpose of this essay, two opposing positions will be scrutinized. There is no doubt that a speedy train communication system is convenient for plenty of people and corporations because it is a faster way to reach a destination. For instance, it may help to reduce traffic conjeсstion significantly. It should also be mentioned that it can connect cities and villages that build a better connection than the conventional road transport system. Moreover, trains can carry a great number of passengers and goods at a time. Thus, in the modern world a lot of people are eager to reduce air pollution as a result live in cleaner cities. I tend to think that if the government invests in public transport, more and more individuals will want to use it. On the other hand, existing transportation have (has?) always been the main commuting mode for mass city dwellers. In particular, this type of transport is comfortable for elderly people as well as employed population because they can use it for their own aims. For example, both above-mentioned citizens prefer to consume it because it is located near their home districts. In other words, they do not spend a lot of time on the road and may visit any objects quickly in a short time. Therefore, I feel that investing money in this category of transport plays a pivotal role as well. In conclusion, I would like to highlight that building railway lines for high speed trains connecting cities as well as developing public transport will solve two different issues. The former will provide green and efficient travel between cities. At the same time, the latter will allow people to move and come back from various locations rapidly. Consequently, I am convinced that both the ideas are equally important and should be funded respectively (accordingly?) to improve a cleaner and enjoyable future. (356 words)