Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and production and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people buy local products?

Nowadays, people prefer buying the products of large companies which spends a big sum of money on marketing and production. In this essay, I will discuss the problems caused by this behaviour as well ways to encourage people to buy locally produced goods. As companies increase in size and produce more, they acheive economies of scale. As a result, they are able to compete in the market by offering low prices. In addition, they spend a lot of money on marketing and promotion, which induce people to buy more of their products. This causes a major problem. People are discouraged to buy locally produced products, which can destroy the local economy. For example, Egypt is famous by producing high quality cotton. However, the garment industry is sufferring because of the intense competition from Chinese garment companies, as they offer very low prices compared with the Chinese alternative. Consequently, Egypt is now exporting the majority of its cotton production as a raw material. Hence, this deprives the enomony from the value added impact of manufaturing and selling the final product. There are some strategies to overcome that. Firstly, Egypt's government can encourage investments in garment manufacturing by giving incentives to local investors, for example, by reducing taxes for this sector. Secondly, garment manufacturers can produce high end products with the high quality cotton locally grown, to appeal to the affluent consumers. Thirdly, the government can encourage small and medium businesses in this sector by providing them low interest loans. In conclusion, price competition from big corporations is fierce, and consumers are lured by low procies proxies which can kill local industries. However, several startegies can be made to induce consumers to buy local products.