Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does the shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Fresh water is the water that contains low concentrations of dissolved salt and other total solids, which is 3% of the earth's water and still 1.2% is locked up in the glaciers, ice caps and also buried deep under ground. The significance of fresh water is uncountable and can never be listed out, making us realize that fresh water is indispensable. For example, we utilize fresh water for drinking, cooking food, washing, crop growing, farming, food processing, gardening and so on. Also it is a key to the economic development if we carefully study the importance of it. The shortage of fresh water is caused by many reasons, mainly due to growth in population hence industrialization, global warming and humans' carelessness. The scarcity of fresh water has been tremendiously affecting the lives of specially the population in developing countries due to lack of technology and services. Also this has been a hazard to the regions where the water resources have been lesser than the rest of the world. In such places, women even the children have to walk for miles to carry a pot of drinking water, thus children mostly miss their education also in order to survive their lives. Another issue is that, if the rain does not come in time, crops and animals die, leading to further disasters such as starvation and malnutrition. Further more, this badly affects the wildlife resulting evenmore some delicate species may extinct. One of the other issue is that, spreading of deceases such as diarriayah and cholera, making worse the lives of those suffering without sufficient water. In fact, unavailabilty or shortage of fresh water leads directly and indirectly to hundreds of issues that decide the existence of living beings on earth. Since the earth's fresh water resource is getting smaller and we are leading towards a dry era, prompt as well as sustainable actions must be taken to mitigate the potential risk coming on our way. Describing about the long terms plans to tackle the impact, crop growing and plantation consumes a large volume of fresh water but it should necessarily not be the purified water. Hence, treated water from a waste water treatment process, can be used. This method is already in operation in many countries and has been a very effective sustainable way of preserving the scares water resource. Ozonization process kills the harmful germs in treated water, thus drinkable. Though people are now reluctant to use it, the technology should be further developed as it will certainly come in handy in future. Coming to the short terms plans, water bill of municipal water supply can be increased so that pleople tend to be careful not to waste water even though they have no idea of how scares the water is. Also television advertisements and awareness progremmes should be introduced for the general public to understand the value of fresh water. In conclusion, even though our earth is covered with water, the fresh water or potable water volume is like a tiny barge in the Atlantic Ocean. There is no life if there is no water. Hence, future consequences must be realized and precautions must be taken to preserve this invaluable life giving drink, before it is too late.