Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising, and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To which extent do you agree or disagree?

The current increase in sales of the most purchased items, mirror the strength of marketing and not the actual market demand. From my perspective, I totally agree that marketing positively influences purchase surpassing the real market need. Firstly, marketing plays a critical role in demand, and is a key influencer in impulse buying. To elaborate more, many buyers are drawn to procurement of commodities way beyond their means consuming the resources that would otherwise have added value elsewhere. Additionally, what is more talked about, seen, or read by the consumer, determines their decision during purchase. The use of glamorous successful people in clips and billboards therefore, blinds the consumer to believe that they as well need to possess and live a life of success. Safaricom a telecommunication company for instant, has managed to clinch the highest number of subscribers after dedicating a substantial amount of their budget to advertisement. Besides Safaricom, KFC a premier global fast-food company has almost managed to conquer the hospitality industry by harnessing the power of advertisement, to have their presence in almost every country worldwide. On the other hand, basic items like food, clothing, and shelter are less often inclined to advertisement since the buyer needs them for survival and comfort. In conclusion, it is my opinion that increased sales in the market place are realized as a result of marketing and is not a reflection of demand. It does not only lead to purchase of unwanted items but also influences over-spending on non-critical items.