It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Today, study plays a crucial part in the development of a nation as a whole. However, it is often believed that it is impossible and rather useless for a country to provide admission to university to a larger per cent of students. If questioned, I agree with this view to a large extent. My inclination will be elaborated with examples in the ensuing write-up. There are many reasons for considering providing tertiary education unfeasible. First of all, not all students wish to devote a few years studying for a course. Many blue-collar jobs do not require long term studies and a few months of vocational training are enough. Thus, many youngsters prefer this option. Moreover, university costings are quite high and thus cannot be afforded by all the classes of society. High college fees and additional expenses like books, field trips, stationary materials tend to turn out of budget for many. This results in either performance deterioration or a surge in dropouts and ultimately results in wastage of time and money. Apart from this, it is not necessary that all the graduates who complete their tertiary studies manage to find employment. This leads to them being a burden to society. Looking from another perspective, it is said that each and everyone deserves a chance to pursue their dream and thus learning is necessary. Therefore, efforts should be made to impart knowledge to pupils who demand it. In conclusion, I would pen down that it is not feasible to provide tertiary education to everyone. Therefore the pupils should be carefully chosen so they as well as the society are benefitted as a whole.