One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, traffic congestion has become a major issue experienced in every urbanized city. One common reason for this problem is the lack of public transportation methods and their poor operating quality. Therefore, people compel to use personal vehicles over a bus on daily basis for their convenience. The road traffic has been increased rapidly in the last few years due to the majority of cities still operate a limited number of traditional public transportation methods such as buses and trains besides it operates under minimum conditions. Sri Lanka experiences huge congestion all over the roads in Colombo city limits throughout the daytime. Due to buses are hardly operated on time and the quality in buses and trains are lack such as not sufficient comfy seats or majority have been damaged, the garbage can be found on the floors even on the seats. Therefore, people are reluctant to use those in their daily operations. As a solution, the government should pay extra attention to improve the public transportation services by allocating a high budget to introduce new methods such as railbuses, express trains, or boat services. For instance, in Japan, it has been declared crucial to maintain a continuous qualitative service that should be clean and comfortable for passengers. Being punctual is also a vital scenario in Japan since they apologize even when one minute delay occurs and also they have an advanced reservations system so that passengers can experience a hassle free on time ride. In conclution, It is obvious that people prefer personal vehicles due to the poor management of public transportation and it leads to huge traffic congestions. Therefore, considering to improve the quality and punctuality of the public transportations by the government will provide a solution to reduce these congestions.