People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Nowadays, the consumption of sugar has become increasingly popular and is one of the main factors that have detrimental impacts on one’s health. This essay will further explain the potential causes of this phenomanon and reccommend possible solutions that can help resolving this issue. Overall, the reasons why people are drinking more sugary beverage are persuasive marketing and higher reach of these advertisements that encourage this certain behaviour. In the soft-drink market, which has been notoriously competitive and saturated, to gain more customers, brands have been using images of celebrities or influencers in their marketing campaigns and therefore, increased customer’s engagement towards the brand. Moreover, these beverages often feature delicious favours due to its high sugar content, hence, making them even more attractive towards the younger customer segment. For example, products from Coca-Cola have been featured and consumed by famous atheletes during several sport events, thus encourage sport fanatics to purchase these products to imitate their idols. Furthermore, as the result of major development in broadcasting technology, advertisements have been able to reach all customers from various locations around the world. For instance, people in Australia will be able to watch the same commercials as those in Asia contries, thus, further encourage customers to purchase these goods. On the other hand, it is crucial to conduct preventative initiatives to reduce sugar intake from this unhealthy habit. Firstly, governments should allocate more budget for the development and implimentation of education programmes. These projects will help to raise people awareness of the drawbacks caused by a diet that contains a lot of sugar and further promote more sustainable and healthier lifestyles. For example, in Vietnam, the government has coopoerate cooperated with many international organisations and businesses to provide elementary students with a balanced diet. Additionally, taxes should be applied on sugar to prevent excessive use of this ingredients. This will increase the costs of productions and product prices, therefore, limit people from consuming sugar-based drink. In conclusion, increased consumption of sugary beverages is caused by several attributes, however, if governments engage more in suitable initiatives, it is possible to eliminate this unhealthy habit.