Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

We often see people who are drowning in debt for buying things that mostly are not either needed or are beyond the buyers capacity. Thus, this essay will discuss the reasons and prevention pertaining to this social issue. Firstly, I believe that social stigma is the main reason behind this impulse buying. To elaborate, it's a see-saw world where we are easily influenced by the things we see. Furthermore, people are in a never-ending war with their neighbours where the winner is decided upon the number of assets or tangible goods. For example, the US television series- Living with the Jones, humorously but precisely portrayed the bitter truth where people try to justify the purchase of stuff that is never required, just to gain the upper hand over the neighbour. Similarly, the sense of satisfaction that people get from owning things, is another catalyst that compels people to indulge in such behaviour. Andy the sad truth is that these are sometimes sustained from the means of debt. Secondly, self-contentment is the only way out of the aforementioned issue. However, I can also say that proper education in regards to self-control will be beneficial against this phenomenon. On the other hand, parents are the most important cog in maintaining socially responsible behaviour, which will ensure that their kids won't fall into the trap of temptation. For instance, my parents never allowed me to buy anything other than what was absolutely essential, hence, I never developed the habit of buying what I didn't need. In conclusion, there are many people who are falling into debt traps just to sustain a lifestyle that is not theirs or they simply can't afford it. But with proper guidance and self-control, this issue can be minimised.