Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not useful in terms of generating wealth for the country?

The issue about teaching and learning academic subjects in school is highly controversial. It is considered by the large part of society that studying Math or Physics is a waste of time for the most of the children. However, others believe that all the subjects in school are of equal importance and each of them can turn to become a profitable sphere of activity in future. I tend to agree with the last point as I`m convinced that there are no unnecessary subjects. First of all, any knowledge received from educational program can be implemented in the business sphere. Many scientific and technical subjects provide children with the theoretical fundament like laws, regularities and formulas which can be eventually the stimulus for the brand-new idea or innovation. For example, some student using the simplest mechanisms from physics can one day invent perpetual motion machine as it can become clear that it is not as difficult as everybody thinks. Thus, this invention definitely will lead to a growth of national prosperity. Secondly, not everything in our world is measured in money. There is a plenty of people who are literally able to devote their life to a science. These people do not pursue a goal to hit the jackpot by selling the results of their labor but try to perpetuate their names in the history of science. Moreover, some of such inventors could even endanger their lives for the purposes of science. For instance, Tour Heyerdahl with the team made a dangerous journey across the Pacific Ocean on a balsa raft to prove that ancient people could do the same. He literally sacrificed his life 101 days in a row to prove his point. To sum up, studying academic subjects can enhance welfare of government in unexpected ways and, at the same time, this prosperity is not the ultimate end in itself.