Each year Increasing numbers of students are deciding to move to a different country for higher education. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

Foreign countries have become increasingly popular with students for tertiary education in recent years. From my perspective, this development has both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, pursuing foreign education may be challenging for several reasons. First of all, the main drawback of studying overseas is language barriers. The reasons lie in the fact that overseas students have to use foreign language in studying and living, which can be a significant challenge for people who are not competent enough to speak the host country's language almost every time. Furthermore, studying abroad can make students suffer from culture shock or homesickness, which is because living by unfamiliar norms in a strange country without help from parents is not easy for most overseas students, especially when they also have to undergo extreme academic pressure. As a result, it is difficult for them to have a good academic performance in a foreign university. On the other hand, studying abroad brings a vast number of considerable benefits. Firstly, pursuing tertiary education abroad can allow students to experience advanced teaching facilities and environment. For this reason, overseas students can have in-depth knowledge of their major without any difficulties. In addition, higher education abroad also provides a great chance for students to learn invaluable skills to assist them in joining the future workforce. For example, an overseas student can become more independent and learn how to balance his budget thanks to not being placed under parental supervision in a foreign country. Besides, studying abroad can help students to expand their international relationship circle. In a nutshell, while I understand that there are both pros and cons to tertiary education abroad, I believe that the benefits can overshadow its drawback for the above mentioned reasons and studying overseas is a positive development.