Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Many countries have seen a steep rise in the price of petrol in recent years. Some experts opine that it is the most effective solution to solve the problems related to growing traffic and pollution. Personally, I am not in favour of the aforementioned notion and the following paragraphs will expatiate certain other measures with lucid examples. To begin, it has been seen that augmentation in price petrol gives rise to myriad vexing problems rather than helping in the receding of pollution. To elucidate, many business vendors have to bear the burden of this increase because transportation tends to become costly and thereby, increasing the prices of goods and commodities. For example, in,Delhi the prices of petrol touched a new height which led to a rise in the cost of vegetables and dairy products. As a result, it becomes onerous for the folks to survive in such conditions,especially those who live below the poverty line. Nevertheless, there are some other efficient solutions that can cater to the decimation of the traffic gridlocks and pollution. The foremost way is to control the population from drifting towards the urban areas because it puts pressure on a confined area and its resources. In other words,Better amenities and job opportunities should be provided in the towns, so that people refrain from moving to a city to earn their livelihood. As an instance, although Delhi has wider roads and many pollution control projects in place, still the city is struggling with these two problems due to its high-density population. Therefore, it is imperative to elevate the status of small towns to reduce the burgeoning pollution and traffic in the urban areas. Moreover, public transport has to be made more strong by improving the frequency and connectivity to all parts of the city, so that people opt for this in lieu of using their own vehicles for less number of travellers. To sum up, the government should look for several other viable solutions for these issues as they can be more justified and would not create a subsequent problem for the public. It is apparent that the traffic and pollution are increasing but one must also notice that it is only some part of the country that suffers from it, hence the above solutions can be considered to get rid of these problems.